Site icon Elearn Radiology

Classification of adult scoliosis


Aebi et. al classified adult scoliosis into three types

IPrimary degenerative scoliosis
Develops after skeletal maturity
Minimal structural deformities
Advanced degenerative changes
Lumbar spine most common
Asymmetric degeneration of disc and facet joints with osteoporotic fractures
IIProgressive idiopathic deformity
Develops before skeletal maturity
Symptomatic in adult life
Cervical, thoracic or lumbar
IIISecondary degenerative scoliosis
Secondary to pelvic obliquity, hip pathology or lumbosacral transitional anomaly
Secondary to metabolic disease, osteoporosis, combined with asymmetric arthritic disease and/or vertebral fractures
Exit mobile version