Sanders classification of calcaneal fractures

Two categories

Based on number of fracture lines

Type I

non displaced, no matter how many fracture lins

Type II

single displaced fracture line – 2 part

Type III

two displaced fracture lines – 3 part

Type IV


Based on position of main fracture line

A: lateral 1/3 of joint

B: middle 1/3 of joint

C: medial 1/3 of joint